How does a vehicle win an IIHS Top Safety Pick Plus award?

All trim levels of a vehicle must have a good or acceptable grade for its headlights in order for it to receive the coveted Top Safety Pick Plus title

Additionally, automobiles must score "good" in each of the six crash test categories

These categories include original side,

 roof strength, driver-side small overlap front, passenger-side small overlap front, 

moderate overlap front, and head restraint testing. A "superior" or "advanced" grade for the front collision prevention 

system in vehicle-to-vehicle and vehicle-to-pedestrian testing is also required for the car.

The Rivian electric pickup vehicle received such recognition quite 

quickly after going years without claiming it.

 It is not just a significant achievement for the EV company

but it also demonstrates that other EV 

companies can create vehicles 

vehicles that are just as safe.